How Much Longer Can This Go On?

It’s fun rooting for your teams to do great things. There’s a thrill that comes from the whole experience that’s unmatched by most other things in our day-to-day lives. However, every so often our teams go in the opposite direction and start doing things that are amazing, but for all the wrong reasons. A few examples that come to mind are the Browns in ability to win more than 5 games in any year, the Cavs losing 20-some games in a row, and now the Indians and their recent losing streak.

Don’t get me wrong, I want the Indians to win. I want to see them end this streak. However, I can’t sit here and lie to all of you and say there isn’t some sort of sick enjoyment that comes from watching this melt down of epic proportions. I mean, the Indians aren’t just losing games. They’re getting destroyed and in heart breaking fashion to boot. What happened yesterday in Detroit was mind-boggling. How can the team’s best pitcher cough up 5 runs and a 3 run lead in the bottom of the 10th? It was amazing.

Now we find ourselves 9.5 games out of first place and sinking like a stone. The season is all but over because it would take a massive change of fortune similar to the raising of the Titanic for the Indians to make a run at the playoffs. It’s just not going to happen. All that’s really left is to see how much longer this god awful losing streak can actually go on. We’re already at 9 games in a row. Why not get to a nice round figure of ten? If they manage to pull that off, then where does it stop? 15? Who knows?

The craziest part in all of this is just how hard it is to lose that many baseball games in a row. In Basketball it makes sense. If you’re not a very talented team and run into 9 super talented teams in a row, odds are you’re going to lose those games. But baseball is different. A pitcher gets hot and you win a game. A player turns in a 4 for 4 performance with a couple of homers and you win the game. Hell. sometimes all it takes it one really bad break for the other team and you win the game. For everything to go against the Indians for 9 games in a row is astounding.

So while I find myself quietly rooting on the losing streak on the inside, I’m not at a loss for why I feel the way I do. It all comes down to the management of this team by ownership and the front office. They refused to make move this offseason and at the trade deadline to improve this team and now they are reaping the rewards for what they built. This isn’t a spite against the players (although they’ve played a significant part in this nightmare), it has more to do with a spite for those at the top making the decisions. For that I say, “Lose! Lose as many as you can!”

Does this make me a terrible fan? Maybe… Maybe not… All I know is that I demanded more from this team well before this losing streak even began. I demanded a right-handed bat at the deadline last year and got nothing. I demanded upgrades all over the field in the offseason and got nothing. The trade deadline… NOTHING! So much for that committment to winning. Have fun trying to sell tickets the next two months. Something tells me the Indians aren’t going to be in as high a demand as they were earlier this year… you know, when they weren’t in demand at all.

So tonight, when I get home from work I’m going to go about my business just as I would any other day. I’m probably not going to pay much attention to the Indians game, because honestly… why would I at this point? It’s a bitter pill to swallow, but as a fan of the teams from Cleveland these are the types of things I’ve come to expect.

Now please… I’m begging you… Larry Dolan, Mark Shapiro, and Chris Antonetti… Make my team better!

2 thoughts on “How Much Longer Can This Go On?

Leave a Reply

