While I Was Gone…

So I’m back from my vacation to Canada.  Actually, I’ve been back for a few days, but with all the catching up I’ve had to do with work combined with the fact that we’re entering into peak season I haven’t had much time to sit down and write about the past week.  So without any further rambling here’s a look at a few things that have happened in the past week and my take on them.

1.  The Indians died: When I left the indians were still in the hunt.  When I got back, they had been swept by the Tigers at home and effectively dead in the water.  Combine their recent struggles with the fact that the Tigers refuse to lose right now and the Indians didn’t have a chance.  The Tigers have rattled off 12 straight wins and look like the best team in baseball, or at least the American League, right now.  So much for this thing coming down to the final week.  At this point it looks as if the Tribe has given up.  How they were able to stay in the race as long as they did given all the injuries was remarkable.  It was a fun season that exceeded expectations, but it wasn’t any less frustrating.

2.  Ohio State:  What is there to really say about the Buckeyes?  They rolled Akron and barely beat Toledo.  In fact, they probably should have lost the Toledo game.  This is just further proof that this year will be quite the rude awakening for all of the Buckeye fans in Ohio and across the country.  At the same time, Michigan has looked great.  Suddenly, I feel a little worried about our date with Michigan in November.  This week they take on Miami in the ineligibowl.  It might be a good game, but I don’t think I’m going to actually watch it.

3.  Peyton Manning:  Another neck surgery?  While i realize the time-table for this injury doesn’t mean he’s done for the year, we might as well look at the reality of the situation… Peyton Manning is done for the year.  By the time he’s ready to come back the Colts should be more than done.  That’s good news for the Browns.  They take on the Colts this week and should be able to build some momentum starting the year with the Bengals and Manningless Colts… Oh wait.

4.  The Browns:  Where do I start with this one?  They looked awful for 3 of the four quarters of their game on Sunday.  They fell behind early to rookie Andy Dalton, then they stormed a comeback and knocked Dalton out in the process.  Unfortunately, the Browns failed to put the nail in the coffin.  They allowed the Bengals to hang around until finally the Browns snatched defeat from the jaws of victory.  Two terrible touchdowns late for the Bengals sealed the deal.  Pat Shurmur had a rough debut as an NFL head coach.  Colt McCoy looked more like a rookie and less like he did in the preseason.  The Offense as a whole looked sloppy and out of sorts racking up penalty after penalty.  They had better rebound against the Colts, or it’s going to be a loooooong season in Cleveland.

5.  The NFL started and that means fantasy football:  Unfortunately, none of my three teams got off to a good start.  I went 0 for three on the opening weekend of the NFL seasons.  I made a lot of miscues in terms of who I played and also got stuck facing a red-hot Cam Newton in my league that involves money.  That about figures.  I choose to blame my misfortunes on having zero internet access and no sports television for a week.  Yes, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.  I’m looking for a big bounce back this week.  Yes… I’m a nerd.

One thought on “While I Was Gone…

Leave a Reply

