Blink-182 Release New Music; America Gets a Boner

It’s been a very long and very hectic day for me at work today, so in lieu of rushing to cram 500 -700 words into this space about random sports story X, I’m going to keep things simple.  My favorite band of all-time, Blink-182, released new music last night for the first time in eight years.  Believe me, for anyone who was a fan of the band when they were in high school during the late 90’s to early 2000’s  this was a huge deal.

In 2003, Blink-182 didn’t just break up, they imploded.  Revelations of back stage shouting matches, back stabbing emails, and revenge songs left fans doubting they would ever see the band reunite.  In the process, it left a void in the music world that hasn’t really been filled.  Sure, each of the members went on to do their own separate musical projects (Mark Hoppus and Travis Barker had +44 while Tom Delonge had Angels and Airwaves) but it just wasn’t the same.

I had always held Blink-182 in high regard, regularly alternating them into and out of the coveted top spot of my favorite band of all-time… and trust me, I’m not alone in this ridiculous game of musical chairs.  Other seat warmers during this time were The Offspring, Green Day, even Sum 41 gave it a decent go.  There was just something about Blink-182 that was different.  Even though the book had closed on their career together, the songs that Mark, Tom, and Travis had crafted together were always there.  They never got old or tired.  In fact, it seemed like they got better over time.

Every time I needed a pick me up those cd’s were there and they still are.  Even though I’m closing in on being 10 years removed from high school, Blink-182 is still the band that can get me through the worst of days.  Their music just makes me feel better.  And yes, while they’ll never be regarded as the most serious or technically gifted musicians the world has ever seen (writing songs about humping dogs and telling dick jokes on stage will do that) they taught me some valuable lessons.  The most important of which being don’t take things or myself too seriously, because honestly…what’s the point?  (I guess a second lesson would be never take anything for granted.  I always assumed I’d get to see them live some day.  Then they broke up.  Talk about wasted opportunities.  The final lesson… there’s always room for a well timed joke about penis’s, vagina’s or bodily functions).

I wasn’t alone in this thinking apparently.  Blink-182 was gone, but never really forgotten.  If anything, in the 8 years they spent separated the band only seemed to grow.  A younger generation of fans discovered them through their side projects.  Old school fans helped stoke the flames, passing on their music to younger siblings and cousins (in my case my it was my neighbor), never giving up hope that one day the band would reunite.

Then the unthinkable happened.  In February of 2009, Blink-182 appeared on the Grammy’s proclaiming they were back.  They were back to rock our faces off.  They went out on tour (I finally got to see them live), they started writing music, and they were doing interviews as a band once again.  It was great.  All was seemingly right in the world once again.  And surprisngly they may be bigger and more popular than they’ve ever been.  I know it’s a total stretch, but if Blink-182 reuiniting caused this much of a buzz, what would have been the reaction had the Beatles ever gotten back together?

Then last night, the moment we’ve all been waiting for happened.  Blink-182 released their first new song since 2003’s self titled album.  The two years of fevered anticipation waiting for new music had finally arrived and it was great.  The song. “Up All Night,” incoporates elements of everything they’ve ever done.  No, it’s not pop punk, but in a way it’s still very much the band I grew to know during my teenage years.  It may not be their best song and it definitely will not become my favorite song, but it is definitely their most important.  It signals a new beginning and a fresh start for a band that in all honesty… never really went away.

Leave a Reply

