5/3/11: Indians vs. A’s… Crap…

So there’s a game tonight… does it matter right now?  Nope.  We are at a code red emergency type of situation here.

Today it was reported that Shin-Soo Choo was arrested on suspicion of DUI. Great, just what everyone needed.  Things were going perfectly and now the Indians have to deal with this.  And let’s not be stupid here.  This wasn’t a case of Choo going out, having a drink and getting pulled over with a .09.  Apparently he was more than twice the legal limit, the only actual number I had heard reported was .201.  Not good… not good at all.

I’m shocked.  Never would I have expected something like this from Choo.  Call me crazy, but it just didn’t seem like something that we had to worry about with him.  To make matters worse, Yankee Loving Fiancée felt it necessary to rub salt in the wounds earlier.  I held back on writing anything because expressing it in words makes it real.  I didn’t talk to anyone about it, I just let it sink in and I spiraled into denial.  Then she decided to call and rub it in my face how one of my favorite players who I’m constantly talking about is an alchy.  Thanks.  Love you too… jerk.

It’ll be interesting to see what happens.  Choo made the trip out to Oakland and is going to play tonight, but I expect him to be suspended at some point for a few games, probably not until the due process of the law has run its course.  The bigger question is however, is this a larger problem or an isolated incident?  Choo is under a lot of pressure as the star of this team and as a star in his homeland.  Would it explain his slow start?  Maybe… I don’t want to think about it.  For the time being I’m going with isolated incident.

Ugh… there’s a game tonight.  Here are the lineups.  I’m going to go drown my sorrows in leftover Easter candy.

Indians:

  1. Grady Sizemore, CF
  2. Asdrubal Cabrera, SS
  3. Shin-Soo Choo, RF
  4. Carlos Santana, C
  5. Shelley Duncan, DH
  6. Michael Brantley, LF
  7. Matt LaPorta, 1B
  8. Jack Hannahan, 3B
  9. Adam Everett, 2B
  • Fausto Carmona, P

A’s:

  1. Coco Crisp, CF
  2. Daric Barton, 1B
  3. David DeJesus, RF
  4. Hideki Matsui, DH
  5. Kurt Suzuki, C
  6. Ryan Sweeney, LF
  7. Mark Ellis, 2B
  8. Adam LaRoche, 3B
  9. Cliff Pennington, SS
  • Tyson Ross, P
Leave a Reply

